//

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> RoA won't launch. More details inside
Holy
post Nov 23 2012, 09:53 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-November 12
Member No.: 12,389



Hi there, I just bought RoA on Steam and when I click the play button all it says is " Preparing to launch" and then it closes, without anything else happening.

My specs are:
3GHz CPU, single-core, 2GB ram and I have ATI graphic card and I'm using Windows xp, I can give more info about this if needed.

I tried to reinstall the game, uninstall PhysX and installed it again from Preresquites folder, and I did the same with Microsoft Visual C++, leaving me with no other options I can think off.

Any idea? sad.gif

PS: English is nto my native language, but I hope you understood what's my problem. Thanks in advance smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andres Bordeu
post Nov 23 2012, 01:14 PM
Post #2


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 1,636
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 3



Looks like a Steam issue (not something related to the game). From my experience reading through threads it's possible the problem will disappear eventually. Can you retry and see if it works? Did you try verifying integrity of game cache? Did you try deleting and re-installing?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holy
post Nov 23 2012, 03:51 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-November 12
Member No.: 12,389



I didnt even know Steam has something like verifying integrity of game cachce, but after trying it, It didn't help. I tried to delete and re-install the game several time and I tried to run the game many times, and I still have got the same problem. However, I did not try re-installing steam, so I might try that too, but im not quiete sure how that works, am I going to have to download all games again?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andres Bordeu
post Nov 23 2012, 05:18 PM
Post #4


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 1,636
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 3



Don't re-install steam. That won't get you anywhere. Apparently you're running into problems other ATI users are encountering. I've read from the Steam Discussion threads that some users are solving this issue by downloading and installing these drivers:

http://www.nvidia.com/content/DriverDownlo...&type=Other

Let me know how that goes...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holy
post Nov 23 2012, 06:22 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-November 12
Member No.: 12,389



Tried this already, but I tried again anyways and it didn't help. I'll be trying tomorrow again I guess, but I'm just gonna go to the bed now, thanks for help though.
Who knows, maybe it's just somehow gonna work tomorrow.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holy
post Nov 24 2012, 12:47 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-November 12
Member No.: 12,389



I found RoA.exe in steam folder and tried to run it with expectation of some error that would give me more info, but all it said was "Unable to find a version of the runtime to run this application", which i guess isn't very useful :/

EDIT: Oh and title of that error was ".NET Framework initialization error" if that helps.
I was looking for something thats called like that and It seems like I have Microsoft .NET Framework-extended,CSY extended language pack,client profile and CSY language pack.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tschumann
post Nov 24 2012, 07:35 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Moderator
Posts: 741
Joined: 20-March 09
From: Australia
Member No.: 283



Was there any more detail in the error message? Do you have the latest .NET framework installed and fully updated?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holy
post Dec 2 2012, 07:12 AM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-November 12
Member No.: 12,389



Sorry for not respondign for a while, my internet wasn't working.
The error message didn't say anything else, but I installed ATI Catalyst Control Center, but everytime I open it it says it needs Microsoft .NET framework 2.0, so I guess I don't have it, but all I found was some service pack, which I downloaded ages ago when I was re-installing windows, so I'm not sure where to get it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tschumann
post Dec 3 2012, 04:18 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Moderator
Posts: 741
Joined: 20-March 09
From: Australia
Member No.: 283



Maybe look for a more recent version of the framework like v4.0 or v4.5
v2.0 was released in 2005 so you probably won't find a download for it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holy
post Dec 6 2012, 08:56 AM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-November 12
Member No.: 12,389



I downloaded v4.5 and it didnt help :/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Carlos Bordeu
post Dec 6 2012, 07:13 PM
Post #11


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 2,178
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 4



QUOTE (Holy @ Dec 6 2012, 09:56 AM) *
I downloaded v4.5 and it didnt help :/


unsure.gif

Have you been able to play any other Unreal Engine 3 games?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Holy
post Dec 7 2012, 12:29 PM
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-November 12
Member No.: 12,389



uh, so this is weird. I also play League of Legends and I just installed LoLReplay that simply records games that I play. Well when it was installing it said "installing .net" and well, it seems like it did. Now RoA is working. That's pretty weird considering I downloaded .net 4v5 like 2 days ago.
Anyways thanks for help! The support here is awesome! Glad I can play now :3
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andres Bordeu
post Dec 7 2012, 02:40 PM
Post #13


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 1,636
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 3



Glad it's finally working!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st August 2017 - 08:03 AM