Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zeno Clash 3D Max exporter and model compiler, RELEASED ...and documented in the wiki
Carlos Bordeu
post Aug 27 2009, 09:10 AM
Post #21


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 2,177
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 4



QUOTE (tschumann @ Aug 27 2009, 04:17 AM) *
Tha basic npc I'm doing won't be doing any fighting, probably just walking around.


I think the regular activities should work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shakur
post Aug 28 2009, 05:06 PM
Post #22


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 292
Joined: 24-July 09
From: Zenozoik
Member No.: 750



A HL2 NPC in Zeno Clash?


--------------------


PICKLES IS GREAT!
HERE CHOOSE ONE!


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tschumann
post Aug 28 2009, 07:01 PM
Post #23


Advanced Member
***

Group: Moderator
Posts: 731
Joined: 20-March 09
From: Australia
Member No.: 283



Just the model.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shakur
post Aug 29 2009, 04:51 AM
Post #24


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 292
Joined: 24-July 09
From: Zenozoik
Member No.: 750



Ok, this means we coudl create bosses for our own maps biggrin.gif


--------------------


PICKLES IS GREAT!
HERE CHOOSE ONE!


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gentleman
post Aug 29 2009, 07:32 AM
Post #25


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 688
Joined: 18-July 09
From: UK
Member No.: 739



Something like the scanners would be cool.


--------------------
Zeno Clash 2!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lexx
post Sep 21 2010, 10:22 AM
Post #26


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-November 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 1,027



I've got a question about the model materials. Is there anything fancy that needs to be done when compiling models for ZC or is there something else, I've overlooked?

I want to compile a prop_static model and this is my *.qc file:

CODE
$modelname    "test_model\test1.mdl"
$body mybody    "test1.smd"
$staticprop
$surfaceprop    combine_metal
$cdmaterials    "models\world\test_model\"

$sequence idle    "test1.smd" loop fps 15

$collisionmodel    "test1.smd" { $concave }


Compiling this model works and I can see it in Hammer and ingame. Only the material isn't showing up. The dev console ingame says, it can't find the texture, but the correct named vtf file is exactly in the materials folder "models\world\test_model\". First I thought that my vtf file might be broken, but even if I try some existing material, the game can't find it.

CODE
test_model\test1.mdl : material "models/world/test_model/test_material" not found.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Carlos Bordeu
post Sep 21 2010, 12:04 PM
Post #27


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 2,177
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 4



This is the .qc of a simple model (just a rock).

CODE
$modelname world/plains/rock1.mdl

$staticprop

$cdmaterials models\world

$scale 1.0

$body studio "rock1.smd"

$sequence idle "reference_anim.smd" fps 1

$collisionmodel "rock1_phys.smd" {
        $Mass 100
    $concave
}


And this is the .vmt

CODE
"VertexLitGeneric"
{
    "$allowLightmaps" "1"
    "$detailblendmode" "12"

    "$baseTexture" "models\world/rock1"
    "$bumpmap" "models\world/rock1_local"        
    "$model" 1
}


The two first lines (after vertexlitgeneric) are for the pre-rendered lightmaps that are assigned in hammer, so you shouldn't really need those. Are you sure your .vmt is ok?

BTW; how is your project going on?


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lexx
post Sep 21 2010, 07:09 PM
Post #28


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-November 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 1,027



Ah, thanks. Now it works! smile.gif This means that I can now start to model some serious stuff. (It was the first time, that I've compiled a model for the source engine. It's pretty *meh* work.)

I've scrapped the plans for my project a bit down. Even though it wasn't even that big in the first place, it seems like it was a bit too big for my skills with the source engine. For even the most simple things (well, I'll guess they are simple), I've needed at least one hour of work and trying. In the moment, I am working on the easier maps of it and hope, that everything will work out good.

I've made some screenshots of a pretty desolated desert:



It's still work in progress, but I'll guess the general direction is already visible. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Carlos Bordeu
post Sep 22 2010, 09:57 AM
Post #29


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 2,177
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 4



Great!

Can't see the images BTW (broken links)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lexx
post Sep 22 2010, 02:33 PM
Post #30


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-November 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 1,027



Aw damn imagehoster. I've re-uploaded it to some other hoster.

Btw. I've decompiled various of the original ZC maps and damn, must have been a shitload of work. Nearly everything of most of the maps are out of 3d models. Now I can understand how much it sucks, if the lightning in a map changed and all shadows and stuff for every object has to be adjusted to that. :>
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Carlos Bordeu
post Sep 23 2010, 09:58 AM
Post #31


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 2,177
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 4



QUOTE (Lexx @ Sep 22 2010, 02:33 PM) *
if the lightning in a map changed and all shadows and stuff for every object has to be adjusted to that. :>


Correct... with our pre-baked lightmap system (rendered in 3D Studio Max) we had to be very careful with the lighting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scarzy
post Jun 11 2013, 05:29 AM
Post #32


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 11-June 13
Member No.: 12,818



QUOTE (Carlos Bordeu @ Aug 4 2009, 10:03 AM) *
Both the 3D Studio Max model exporter and the model compiler have been released.

Exporter & Model Compiler

I've added some documentation on how activities and events for attacks are handled for a ZC character. I've still got some more stuff to document, but if anyone is planning on creating NPC's or exporting static props with lightmaps and needs a hand, this is the place to ask... so please keep this thread's conversations related to the exporter and compiler.



Hi i'm new here seem all the links are broken anywhere else I can get this stuff?? the wiki is gone too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Carlos Bordeu
post Jun 11 2013, 05:43 PM
Post #33


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 2,177
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 4



I'm not sure... it's been like 5 years since anyone actually was interested in this, so I'd have to look around. unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scarzy
post Jun 11 2013, 08:54 PM
Post #34


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 11-June 13
Member No.: 12,818



QUOTE (Carlos Bordeu @ Jun 11 2013, 05:43 PM) *
I'm not sure... it's been like 5 years since anyone actually was interested in this, so I'd have to look around. unsure.gif


Ok thanks mate, all I can find is plugins for 3dsmax that are from a place called wunderboy.org and there is a mdl decompiler at cannonfoder's half life 2 tools but I think that only works if you have half life 2 I might try messing around with that see if I can get it to work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tschumann
post Jun 12 2013, 08:02 AM
Post #35


Advanced Member
***

Group: Moderator
Posts: 731
Joined: 20-March 09
From: Australia
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (scarzy @ Jun 11 2013, 07:29 PM) *
Hi i'm new here seem all the links are broken anywhere else I can get this stuff?? the wiki is gone too.


I've got the SDK files here: https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=1bcc5bd24a24...24A241DE4%21265
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scarzy
post Jun 12 2013, 09:31 AM
Post #36


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 11-June 13
Member No.: 12,818



QUOTE (tschumann @ Jun 12 2013, 08:02 AM) *


thanks heaps man you rock.....was about to give up hope smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Carlos Bordeu
post Jun 12 2013, 01:36 PM
Post #37


Super Member
****

Group: Developers
Posts: 2,177
Joined: 11-April 08
From: Santiago, Chile
Member No.: 4



I think tschumann knows more about ZC1 development than anyone in ACE Team at this point. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tschumann
post Jun 12 2013, 07:06 PM
Post #38


Advanced Member
***

Group: Moderator
Posts: 731
Joined: 20-March 09
From: Australia
Member No.: 283



QUOTE (scarzy @ Jun 12 2013, 11:31 PM) *
thanks heaps man you rock.....was about to give up hope smile.gif


No problem. I was going to suggest ModDB but they only have the mapping SDK, not the modelling SDK.

QUOTE (Carlos Bordeu @ Jun 13 2013, 03:36 AM) *
I think tschumann knows more about ZC1 development than anyone in ACE Team at this point. laugh.gif


I can't forget now or my mod will never get done!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: